Irish twins

If I had a nickel for every time someone asked me if my kids were twins, I’d be a very rich woman. Quite honestly though, there are many days that it certainly does feel like they are twins.  They are often on the same page with grasping a concept, their speech or if you look at them, they are definitely on the same page with size. 

While most days are really wonderful with the two of them being so close in age, there are many trying days as well.  There are days I’d like to punch whoever said that breastfeeding is birth control.  It took us years to have Maty and then SURPRISE, at 12 weeks old, I found out I was expecting again.  (See definition of “pelvic rest” for 8 months plus one glass of chardonnay and you’ll understand how my son came to be.)  For years we struggled with infertility.  I wanted to cry every time someone told me to “relax” or “just don’t think about it and it will happen”.  Go through 3 years of shots, pills and weigh gain from the wacky hormones and then tell me how easy it is to “relax”.  Then I guess the lord thought I needed a challenge.  🙂   

Anyway, I am not about to go off about the trials of infertility but rather relish in the fact that I have two rambunctious kiddos that are courteous and kind and full of life.  For every trying day with my irish twins, there are so many more that are amazing and memorable.  

Happy St. Patty’s day to all of those parents of irish twins.  Slainte! 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

